Posted by: Sheridan Flynn | November 25, 2006

Expectations Vs Reality

blog_image001.jpg

So finally after two weeks I get around to writing this blog, and as usual I’m not too sure what I’m going to write about. So, I guess I’ll just put my fingers to the keyboard and go wherever the screen takes me.

It’s frustrating when things don’t go the way I expect them to go. My expectations are usually flawless. They are exactly what I want to happen, or what I think will happen at the exact right time I want them to happen. Either way they are always perfectly correct. Right up to the point where reality steps in and and makes complete crap of my delicate fantasies.

All traffic lights aren’t green. More alcohol doesn’t make me a more interesting person, and that bloody square peg won’t fit into the damn round hole. This is where the pain usually kicks in. It’s like unknowingly walking into a man-hole (which I’ve only done once). You don’t know it’s happened till you’ve hit the floor and you taste the dirt.

Even as I’m writing this simple blog, I expect to be able to sit down and bang it out in about half an hour. Upload it, get a load of hits, bang out another one, and become an overnight success in minutes. The next thing you know, I’m sitting on David Letterman’s couch looking very serious, talking about the situation in the Middle East and laughing about how it all started with just one simple blog.

But unfortunately that’s not reality. Reality has habit of imposing itself when we least expect it or when we least want it. Sometimes that can be a real pain in the arse. Just ask the Brazilian runner Vanderlei de Lima, who was on course to win an Olympic gold medal in Athens. He was doing fine in first place, up until he was attacked by a freakin crazy Irish priest dressed in a green beret and red miniskirt.

It boils down to acceptance. I wish there some kind of acceptance pill on the market. It would make life so much easier. All of the pain and mental torment I go through on a daily basis would just vanish. I’d be looking forward to queues at the ATM, car alarms would sound like Damien Rice and Damien Rice would sound okay.

So that’s it I guess. Expectations are nothing but trouble and acceptance is the key to all of life’s problems. And how do I get acceptance? I don’t have a bloody clue! But If anybody out there knows please let me know. serenity@acceptance.biz

Responses

  1. pos yourgirls


Leave a Reply

Categories

